Redefining the Classroom

Hall of Fame

2002 Hall of Fame Inductees

1971-1972 Hockey Team

  • Captured first National Championship in school history (NAIA)
  • 20-8-2 record
  • ICHA Championship (12-0)
  • Six members named to 1972 NAIA All American Team


Dee Fischer Weaver

  • Volleyball 1985-1989
  • All-GLIAC First Team (1988, 1989)
  • GLIAC All-Academic Team (1989)
  • Established career records - kills 1,352; aces 212
  • Established LSSU record for single-season kills (429, 1988)
  • Established LSSU record for single-season aces (63, 1987)
  • Outstanding Female Athlete Award (1990)
  • Terry McDermott Award (1987)

Bill Slewidge

  • Hockey - 1971-1974
  • NAIA National Championship (1972, 1974)
  • NAIA All-American (1972, 1973, 1974)
  • All-CCHA First Team (1973)
  • All-CCHA Second Team (1974)
  • Established LSSU record for career goals by a defenseman (52, 1971-1974)
  • Established LSSU record for single-season assists by a defenseman (36, 1973)
  • Terry McDermott Award (1972)

1955-56 Basketball Team

The '55-56 Hornets had size, speed, springs and burned out lights in the scoreboards. Coached by the now legendary coach, Ronald "Bud" Cooper, this Soo Tech squad averaged an amazing 101.6 points a game enroute to a 19-2 record and the UPIAC championship.

Led by LSSU Hall of Famers Frank Hamilla and Dean Rye, the Hornets set records for points scored per game, wins, consecutive wins, and win percentage that remain unchallenged in LSSU annuls. Among their victims were Aquinas, Suomi, Alma, Central Michigan's "B" team, and Ferris. The Hornets dropped their first and sixth games of the year before buzzing through 15 straight opponents.

This was an era when Soo Tech was a two-year school, playing a four-year, two-year and "B" teams from bigger schools.

1955-56 Roster
Jim Bourque, Rae Burns, Jim Cooper , David Creery, Jim Depew, Ray Fazari, Frank Hamilla, Ben Lachard, Eldred Leach, Ed Peterson, Jim Quinnel, Clarence Rye, Marv Tauriainen and Raymond VanLuven.

Coach Ronald 'Bud' Cooper - Assistant Coach Bill Ruffer - Manager Glenn Rye

1955-56 Basketball Team
Click to enlarge

Front Row (L to R): Jim Cooper, Ray VanLuven, Jim DePew, Dean Rye, Ed Peterson, Jim Quinnell, Eldred Leach

Back Row (L to R): Bill Ruffer (Asst. Coach), Glen Rye (Manager), Rae Burns, Dave Creery, Jim Bourque, Frank Hamilla, Ronald 'Bud' Cooper (Coach)