2024 Alumni Award Recipients

Stephen Mulholland ’83

Dr. Stephen Mulholland

Outstanding Alumnus Award

Dr. Stephen Mulholland ’83 has been chosen as the 2024 recipient of the LSSU Outstanding Alumnus Award. The award established in 1968, is the highest honor that the association presents. It recognizes recipients for their personal and professional accomplishments and their involvement with LSSU, highlighting the significant achievements of alumni who serve as leaders in our region, state and nations.


Steve Davies ’77

Steve Davies

Kenneth J. Shouldice Achievement Award

Steve Davies ’77 has been chosen as the 2024 recipient of the Kenneth J. Shouldice Professional Achievement Award. The award, established in 1994, honors individuals whose personal and professional successes serve as outstanding examples to LSSU graduates. Dr. Shouldice is, in many ways, the founding father of today’s Lake Superior State University. As the first chancellor and president (1965-1982), he guided the campus from a two-year branch of Michigan Technological University to an autonomous four-year college.

Jeanna Trotman ’12

Jeanna Trotman

Paul Ripley Award for Young Alumni

Jeanna Trotman ’12 has been selected as the 2024 recipient of the Paul Ripley Award for Young Alumni. The award was established in 1994 and is presented to graduates who have enjoyed exceptional personal and professional success early in their careers.

The Alumni Awards ceremony, the highlight of Great Lake State Weekend, will take place on October 19, 2024, at 11:30 AM. This prestigious event celebrates the achievements and contributions of distinguished alumni, bringing together past graduates to honor their accomplishments and dedication to their fields.  For the second year in a row, the event will be combined with the LSSU Athletic Hall of Fame induction, following last year’s hugely successful inaugural combined ceremony.

Tickets for the Alumni Awards and Hall of Fame event will go on sale soon, offering an opportunity for alumni and the community to partake in this special celebration.