This year we recognized five highly accomplished alumni and friends at an Alumni Awards Banquet on October 16, 2015. The event included comments from LSSU President Dr. Tom Pleger and each of the award recipients. Their powerful stories and inspiring thoughts about their time at LSSU and beyond was incredibly motivating.

Ian Ward ’76

Outstanding Alumnus

  • Chartered Financial Analyst
  • Senior Vice President Investments, Operational Services and Real Estate for Auto-Owners Insurance Company (employed with Auto-Owners for 37 years)
  • Kenneth J. Shouldice Achievement Award Recipient, 2000
  • Inducted into LSSU Athletic Hall of Fame, 2003
    • Player on 1973-74 NAIA National Championship Team
  • Awarded Certificate of Achievement from ICFA, 1988
  • LSSU Foundation Board – Executive Committee – Chair Finance Committee
  • Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association – Chair Investment Committee since 1994
  • Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility – Investment Committee and past Chair

Jean Pierre Rasaiah ’93

Kenneth J. Shouldice Achievement Award

  • Managing Consultant/Technical Sales at 4D Systems
  • Formerly Engineering Manager and Program Manager for AMT
  • 18 years experience as engineer, sales person, engineering manager, project manager and program manager
  • PMP Certified
  • Pioneered robot simulation in the automotive industry using both Delmia and Tecnomatrix software
  • Donated engineering software and robotics hardware to LSSU
  • Spearheaded multiple engineering senior projects with LSSU

Derrick Bates ’06

Paul Ripley Young Alumnus

  • Wastewater Operator at McCormick
  • Formerly Pretreatment Coordinator at City of South Bend Wastewater Treatment Plant
  • OSHA certified for Hazard Recognition
  • Received McCormick Star Thrower Award in 2012 for collaborative work resulting in $50,000 annual cost savings
  • Recognized as 2012 Indiana Industrial Operator of the Year
  • Recognized for Excellence in Innovation in Government by South Bend City Mayor

Professor Emeritus Raymond R. Chelberg

Lighthouse Recognition Award

  • Instructor in the department of chemistry and assistant football coach at Michigan College of Mining and Technology (MCMT) 1938-1945
  • Selected to move from Houghton to Sault Ste. Marie during the quick conversion from Army post to College campus
  • Coached football at MCMT – Sault Branch for duration of the program
  • Set up entire chemistry department at the Sault branch, including laboratories
  • Recognized as the very first Distinguished Teacher award recipient from MCMT – Sault Branch, 1958
  • Chair of the Chemistry Department and dedicated teacher for more than 44 years
  • Remembered for his personal, caring and effective approach to teaching
  • Wrote “Workbook for First Year College Chemistry” that was used throughout the United States.
  • Dedicated to promoting and assisting the basketball program and served as official timer for all home games
  • Devoted time after school and Saturday mornings to help students
  • Spent many extra hours with student athletes to achieve and understanding of the subject material
  • Listed in “Men of Science” and “Who’s Who in the Midwest”
  • The Chelberg family established the Outstanding Science Athlete Scholarship in Professor Emeritus Raymond R. Chelberg’s memory.

Dr. Rachael McCoy ’97 & Dr. Peter Scornaiencki

Donald and Catherine Finlayson Award

  • Chiropractors and owners, Bordertown Chiropractic PC
  • Staunch supporters of LSSU Academics and Athletics
  • Sponsor annual award for best biology senior thesis poster
  • Assist LSSU seniors with research projects
  • Active supporters/donors to LSSU Hockey
  • Donate equipment and services to LSSU
  • 2010 United Way Business Neighbor Award
  • 2012 F.M. Mansfield Business of the Year Award
  • Community Involvement includes Rotary Club, Chippewa County Community Foundation, Upper Peninsula Horseman’s Association, Sault Ste. Marie Hockey Association and Hospice of the EUP

Nominate someone for an award or Hall of Fame