2018 Alumni Award Recipients

LSSU will recognize three highly accomplished alumni and friends at the annual Alumni Awards Banquet on Nov. 2, 2018. This event includes a catered dinner followed by comments from LSSU’s President and each of the award recipients. Discounted rate offered to LSSU students, email [email protected] for more information.

Ed Smith ’78

Dr. Smith

Outstanding Alumnus Award

  • Physician and Oncologist in St. Ignace at Mackinac Straits Hospital
  • Created and developed the nursing scholarship/internship at Mackinac Straits Hospital
  • Supports the Lake State Classic, South Hall and most projects presented to the Foundation Board
  • Current LSSU Foundation Board Member

Julie Vincent ’83

Julie Vincent

Ken Shouldice Achievement Award

  • Professor, Chair and Chief in the Division of Pediatric Cardiology at Columbia University
  • While serving as Director of Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory at Phoenix Children’s Hospital, she was responsible for overseeing the development of first State-of-the-Art Pediatric Hybrid Catheterization Lab in the Southwest
  • While serving as Director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory of the Children’s Hospital of Michigan in Detroit, she was the first to implement/build a pediatric interventional subspecialty team of credentialed physicians
  • Inaugural inductee into the Academy of Clinical Excellence, Columbia University Medical Center in 2017
  • Listed in America’s Most Honored Professionals – Top 5% (American Registry), 2016-17

Erin Strang ’02

Erin Strang

Paul Ripley Alumnus Award

  • President and CEO of Central Michigan University Research Corp
  • Inducted into the Glen Oaks Community College Athletic Hall of Fame
  • Serves on the Great Lakes Bay Regional Alliance, Mount Pleasant Chamber of Commerce, CMU Senior Leadership team, Great Lakes Entrepreneurial Quest Ambassador, member of the Michigan Small Business Development Centers and the MTEC Advisory Board

If you know of any alumni or friends of LSSU who deserve this honor, please nominate them here and help them get the recognition they deserve. To see previous award winners you can view them here.